Welcome to menus. Skip directly to: main content, search box or category list.
  • Auckland
  • Bay of Plenty
  • Canterbury
  • Gisborne
  • Hawkes Bay
  • Manawatu-Wanganui
  • Marlborough
  • Nelson
  • Northland
  • Otago
  • Southland
  • Taranaki
  • Tasman
  • Waikato
  • Wellington
  • West Coast

Reviews of Fishermans Table Restaurant

29 State Highway 1, Paekakariki, Wellington

  1. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    1/2

    What a disappointment. After traveling so many years up North saying we have to stop & have lunch. The decor is very tired. Needs updating. But I thought that I should give it a chance, maybe the meals are out of this world & then decor will be a minor issue. I must say that the venue was very busy, so thinking it is obviously very popular. Looking around I noticed the age group of the patrons. I was expecting fresh seafood to be prepared, but instead it is all frozen & the prepared. Really did not enjoy our meal. Sadly we will not be returning again


    29th January 2015

  2. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * * * *

    I'd previously visited Fishermans Table a couple of years ago leaving spewingly disappointed and after reading the recent reviews was expecting more disappointment... it was my mother-inlaws birthday tonight so I had no say in the matter or choice of venue. I'd dug my heels in, expecting the worst but shock, horror, I was pleasantly surprised! Service was great, our waiter Jeff, was attentive, delivered with a smile and pride - makes a difference, legend! The salad bar had raised it's quality a few notches since last time, they got rid of that dreadful bean salad :-/ The roast potatoes were crispy, the warm carrots soaked in butter and herbs was delish and the rest of the salads were good. The mains were great too, sure it may not have been 5 star but considering what we paid for, it was fresh, honest and cooked well. I got the steak, girlfriend the Blue Warehou and sister in-law the flounder. I tasted all three and the fish were fresh and my steak - all cooked well and tasty. For that price it's all you want and expect, just fresh good food cooked well. Now just remember, this isn't Logan Brown or Arbitrageur by any means... its just good, simple honest food cooked well. Well, well, well what a total about face for me and my youngest daughter was right... give them a chance daddy, yes admittedly I feel a bit embarrassed and take it all back. If it had been a bad experience, oh you'd be hearing about it. So with that in mind, credit when credit is due, I'd like to thank Jeff (you deserved the tip mate), the Chef and Matradee for organizing your staff well, a great night and feel it only fair to write this review. Cheers Fisherman's Table, wow really hope this level of service and quality carries on, it's all we expect from a nice night out and will be regular patrons of your establishment. All our families thank you and we will be visiting again.


    8th January 2015

  3. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * *

    Unfortunately this business needs a major makeover to attract us to visit again. Somehow we were satisfied there some 30 years ago seems very tired in all respects.....rather have fast drive thru food and visit a nice place for a drink. will not return until major change.


    1st October 2014

  4. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    1/2

    not a pleasant experience ,service was incompetent (brought mains before entrees) , unfriendly and forever asking to clear plates that were clearly unfinished ....as a party of 11 it felt rushed and chaotic and to top it off the food is mediocre at best .


    28th August 2014

  5. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    *

    I was disappointed with our time at this place. We booked for birthday dinner with a family group of 25x for a sitting @ 5.30pm on a Saturday. We did not get seated until 7pm due to staff fault, yet manager of the shift still decided to make us wait until 7pm. In the waiting area no one came to clear tables from previous customers. While our whole group arrived before 5.30pm we witnessed "Walk In customers" getting seated immediately. The place was so jam packed dinning inside, outside as we'll as the waiting area. During dinner when we were finally seated, staff were shifting tables from one end of the room to another, pushing customers (us) tightly inwards the tables to avoid getting knocked over. Staff were clearly looking under an immense amount of stress, evidence was in no water on the tables, and salad bar with low or no salads. Waiting staff were getting rude as the busy night got heavier, it's was not a good reflection of overall service let alone management decision making. Will not be dinning there again anytime soon. Place looks the same way since we first arrived in NZ over 30years ago...


    6th October 2013

  6. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * * * * 1/2

    We called in here for a meal last Saturday evening and could not fault the place. The service and delivery time was second to none and the meals cooked to perfection. We will be back and have already been recommending this spot to friends and family. Keep up the good work guys and see you all soon.


    27th August 2013

  7. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    1/2

    My friend and I were very disappointed at today's meal. The food was only luke warm at best. The waitress had indicated to us that the scallops were large in size when in fact they were small. For the price we paid, it will be doubtful we will return. I have personally always enjoyed the Fisherman's Table at Paekakariki. The food has always been of an exceptional standard. So now I wonder whether the establishment either has a new chef, or is there new management.


    27th December 2012

  8. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * * * *

    Fisherman's table do the best pan fried fish ever!


    26th May 2012

  9. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * * * * *

    3 kids all under 5 and 10 aduldts ,as a family, we enjoyed the great service, nothing a problem to the staff. we were celibrating my wifes supprise 50th. Meals priced from $15.95 including "all you can eat" from the salad boat. this is a very good rate, no one at our table left hungry!!even the kids, great outlook! well done will call again


    28th January 2012

  10. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * * * * 1/2

    Fantastic family restaurant or romantic dinner for two with awesome seaviews. Fast friendly service with great food and the salad bar was full of fresh salads and vegetables, thoroughly enjoyable meal and atmosphere for a great affordable price


    26th January 2012

  11. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * * * *

    Our fish meals were awesome! with heaps of fish on the plates, which was obviously very fresh. The hostess found us a nice booth away from the noisier family groups which was great. Apart from fish and chip takeaways, I can't think when I last had a better fish meal for the price .........except in Bali in 2008. We'll definitely be back soon. I'd have given it a 5 if the seating was more comfortable.)


    8th January 2012

  12. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * * * 1/2

    What a beautiful place to eat! Very handy to get to, affordable and very edible food! Lots of choice and the salad bar is...very full! Try not to go past it every time.


    25th November 2010

  13. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * * * * 1/2

    This is a superb setting especially if you can sit outside eating with the sunset over the water. Great children's meals and filling adult meals with a array of salads from the salad boat. A great stop off on the way home from the Kapiti Coast which we always look forward to.


    20th September 2010

  14. Fishermans Table Restaurant

    * * * * *

    I have visited my parents and brother in New Zealand twice and visited the Fisherman's table at Paekakeriki both times.The food is very good with a great selection and the salad boat is great.The staff were wonderful and helpful.The second time I arrived with a rather fractious baby,who the girls working there took and cuddled and comforted while I ate my meal.One I believe,who was there on both occasions, was originally from Essex and was lovely.The scenery is also fantastic from the outdoors seating area with views along the coast from the cliff top.A fantastic,friendly,well priced establishment that I would visit time and again.Full marks for service,food and the friendly atmosphere.


    27th June 2010

Write a review

Rating (On a scale of 0.5 to 5, with 5 being the best)

Note: Click on any star to rate this business
1 1 1 2 2 3 3 4 4 5
(Please be honest, fair and responsible - Read our review guidelines)




Submit     Cancel * Required fields