Welcome to menus. Skip directly to: main content, search box or category list.
  • Auckland
  • Bay of Plenty
  • Canterbury
  • Gisborne
  • Hawkes Bay
  • Manawatu-Wanganui
  • Marlborough
  • Nelson
  • Northland
  • Otago
  • Southland
  • Taranaki
  • Tasman
  • Waikato
  • Wellington
  • West Coast

Reviews of Gina's Italian Kitchen

161 Symonds Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland

  1. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * 1/2

    My partner had been here several times and had good meals and a fun time. Our arrival was mixed with us being turned away from a preferred table only to be told it was available after sitting elsewhere. The restaurant was not well heated but was otherwise comfortable and the waiting staff attentive. My partner ordered a diet coke and it was confirmed that they had diet coke. However a coke zero arrived. No diet coke.....hmmmm ! I had a Peroni beer from the tap and that was excellent. The menu is hardly exciting with the usual fare of pizzas, veal, some pasta, antipasta etc, but frankly only one type of ravioli and no cannelloni or tortelli ? We had time constraints and aren't big eaters so orderer pizza bread (caramalised onion and gorgonzola) which she liked but I found too strongly flavoured. She ordered spaghetti meatballs and I the calamari risotto 'with peas' (?). The meatballs looked appetizing and were satisfactory but nothing to rave about and not as good as we could make at home. My calamari was quite simply, AWFUL !!!! White sludge best describes it. The calamari was nicely cooked and tender, but the rice was awash in an indescribable sauce with about a dozen peas floating in it. It not only looked terrible, but had no flavour whatsoever and for the first time in my life I added salt to a dish in a restaurant to attempt to give some flavour. I cannot describe how tasteless, visibly unappealing, and awful the dish was. We did not risk dessert and left, $78 poorer (glass of house pinto gris after my beer) and will not return.


    19th July 2016

  2. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    *

    We went for a late night dessert and drink. As I was going inside from the back, I had to cross a rather narrow passage (tables on the side). Two guys, one of whom seemed like a floor manager or owner, blocked me in order to pass through first. They both passed us by but without forgetting to shout "hello welcome!" As a woman, I found this very rude, and as a customer, very unprofessional. The dessert, profiterole with chocolate sauce on top, was four mini choux with whipped cream filling (not the right cream; should be patisserie cream) and sliver of a line of chocolate sauce on top. No taste and felt old. Service was basic. I know we only ordered two dessert plates and two drinks, but did we have to order a whole meal to get decent service and good food? One star and we are being generous.


    25th March 2014

  3. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    1/2

    Waitresses are rude and arrogant. not kind at all as they dont want us to dine. So l left without eating. Never go there again. I thought it was very nice restaurant once but it is going terrible. i didnt eat this time but last time the taste was not as surprising as i felt 3 years ago. Better not go there.


    21st September 2013

  4. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * 1/2

    Saturday late afternoon July 14th, one other table occupied,others did start to arrive which was good for them when we were well through our meal.. 3 of us waited 25 minutes for Lasagne Beef,Lasagne Pollo and Reg Massimo Pizza...nice enough food and so it should be, real hot when served... They charge you gst on the menu prices and really the rip-off was $3.00 for a 5cm square dish with Parmesan cheese on it,never had that before..


    14th July 2012

  5. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * 1/2

    Been very disappointed of my visit to Ginas today. Atmosphere is still good, but the service and food is much worse than the last time i was there. Nothing is authentic, and the food is just mediocre. I waited for almost for an hour for a badly cooked, steak, dry on one side, and cook and raw in the middle, and the other side. (i ordered rare, btw) slow cook pork belly was dry, and hard to even cut through. Very very disappointed, cause i used to like this place.


    11th July 2012

  6. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * * *

    Ginas is a great restaurant with fantastic vibes and charming staff. The atmosphere is exactly what you need after a hard day at work, nothing better than seeing a room full of happy people eating great food. Come over to eden terrace and check it out i recommend this too everyone. Yum Yum


    10th February 2012

  7. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * *

    Gina's is a very vibrant restaurant to eat, but can sometimes become too noisy for me. Their food is good but normal. To be honest I'd actually dine somewhere else with the same price range.


    16th October 2011

  8. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * * 1/2

    The best part about Gina's is the atmosphere. The exuberance and zeal of the waiters never fails to entertain and the food is great. Especially fun on your birthday as you are serenaded with 'Happy Birthday' in Italian by the waiters. The food is excellent, always hot and fresh and with plenty of flavour - I would especially recommend the pizzas.


    17th March 2011

  9. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * * *

    Favourite restaurant in Auckland for food, atmosphere and incredibly attractive waiters. I regularly visit Gina's with large groups of (usually female) friends, and the waiters and chefs NEVER fail to entertain, flatter and be generally charming. The food is delectable and the location very handy. Highly recommended.


    8th October 2010

  10. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * * *

    The best Italian place in town! Amazing food that can cater to dietary needs. Great waiters, especially on your birthday. They have an excellent selection of wine and a even better selection of desert. If you are looking for good Italian then head no further than Ginas. Bellissimo


    9th September 2010

  11. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * *

    My favourite Italian restaurant in Auckland! I've been going to Gina's for 12 years and I've watched the business expand from a tiny takeaway place to the thriving restaurant it is now, and it hasn't lost any of its charm and unique energy along the way. The food is great, the limoncello delicious, the waiters are hot and the Happy Birthday songs bring the house down every time.


    7th September 2010

  12. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * 1/2

    Food tastes great, prices is slightly above average. however the atmosphere is fun, staff are helpful and polite. overall pretty good.


    7th September 2010

  13. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * 1/2

    Great for a hens night! The rowdy italian staff are pretty funny. Pizzas and desserts are great... pasta is not so brilliant.


    2nd September 2010

  14. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * *

    Used to be better portions and prices. Atmosphere is still nice but I would probably choose other places.


    30th August 2010

  15. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * *

    Great little Pizza place. We were there on a Tuesday night and the place was buzzing. Great service with a real welcoming Italian feel. Pizzas were delicious, but wouldn't recommend the pasta. Would definitely go again!


    26th August 2010

  16. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * 1/2

    I organized a friend's hen's night and Gina's was recommended to me by 2 other girls that had been there previously. It was a success! The staff was very accommodating, we had a reservation but our taxi's were late still they held a huge table on a busy Sat night. The food was great and I would definitely recommend for any occasion.


    23rd August 2010

  17. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * *

    We had a early dinner there on a Wed night, the service was fantastic and the vibe of the place really made you want to stay longer, we had a calamari and ravioli to share and the calamari was amazing, one of the nicest I have tastest. We did not enjoy the ravioli but the head chef, came straight out, apologised and brought us out some more calamari. it was a great night, not too expensive and a great place to eat. Well done


    23rd August 2010

  18. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * 1/2

    PIzza is superb, service is vibrant!


    22nd August 2010

  19. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * * *

    When ever are in town and have the Italian buss on, i order from Gina's. This is the best Italian I have had in Auckland, the atmosphere is amazing and only the food can beat the authentic feel of this establishment. If you want good Italian food visit Gina's.


    26th July 2010

  20. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * *

    Ordered a takeaway pizza and was very disappointed with service and product


    23rd July 2010

  21. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * 1/2

    Fun place to eat. Loud, lots of atmosphere and entertaining staff. Go on your birthday and experience the fuss they make. Very funny. Food is good and cheap. Pizza's would be the best thing on the menu. Great place to start a hen's night!


    22nd July 2010

  22. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * *

    Nice place to visit if you are in a party mood with friends. Lively place, very loud, but entertaining.


    21st July 2010

  23. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * 1/2

    A lively, noisy but entertaining place to go for good italian food and great service, especially with a group of females as the waiters really play up to you. Had the Gnocci instead if the usual pizza last time and it was very good


    16th July 2010

  24. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * *

    You want to go to Gina's? Word of advice BOOK! They are always busy, and if you like a LOUD night out, then this is the place, you get much more then just food at Gina's, the Italian singers are my favourite, and a head's up - if you are celebrating a birthday the whole restaurant will know about it!


    13th July 2010

  25. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * *

    Great food, great wine and er, great scenery.. Ginas is a great location for hens parties or anyone wanting to soak up a bit of Italian-esque atmosphere. Not recommended for a quiet romantic night out though!


    6th July 2010

  26. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * * 1/2

    The staff at Gina's make this Italian restaurant an absolute must for a fun night out with great food and atmosphere. Very well priced too!


    5th July 2010

  27. Gina's Italian Kitchen

    * * * *

    Lots of atmosphere and options, authentic heart-warming Italian food. Great for a night out with the girls or your special someone (they also do takeaway!)


    23rd June 2010

Write a review

Rating (On a scale of 0.5 to 5, with 5 being the best)

Note: Click on any star to rate this business
1 1 1 2 2 3 3 4 4 5
(Please be honest, fair and responsible - Read our review guidelines)




Submit     Cancel * Required fields