Welcome to menus. Skip directly to: main content, search box or category list.
  • Auckland
  • Bay of Plenty
  • Canterbury
  • Gisborne
  • Hawkes Bay
  • Manawatu-Wanganui
  • Marlborough
  • Nelson
  • Northland
  • Otago
  • Southland
  • Taranaki
  • Tasman
  • Waikato
  • Wellington
  • West Coast

Reviews of Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

203 Victoria Street South, Hamilton West, Waikato

  1. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * * 1/2

    Great food....but very disappointed that late menu kicked in a 9pm on a Friday night - very early to not be able to get anything other than Pizza!


    29th January 2012

  2. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * * 1/2

    Great food....but very disappointed that late menu kicked in a 9pm on a Friday night - very early to not be able to get anything other than Pizza!


    29th January 2012

  3. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * * *

    Have eaten here several times, good service and great food. Pizza toppings are a bit unusal but havent had any regrets with any choices Ive made. Also good for functions due to its large size and garden bar out the back. Can be a bit noisy but thats only because its big and popular. Would be my dependible choice in Hamilton.


    4th December 2011

  4. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * * 1/2

    Went to Iguana for Lunch, portions were very good, a little bit pricy, I had to pay extra to have chicken in my fettucine. Atmosphere is very nice, although a whiles wait for our food. Understaffed although i think i Would return to Iguana.


    30th March 2011

  5. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    1/2

    very average we had 2 steaks ordered when they came out they wernt cooked to how we had asked them they took them back to kitchen took nearly 20min to get the meals back and they looked exactly the same . all we got offered was a free round of coffees but none of us actually drink coffee. i myself had ordered the lemon chilli prawn pasta at the time it was ok but next day i was in bed with food poisoning definatly will not be goin back there . HIGHLY NOT RECOMMENDED.


    25th February 2011

  6. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    *

    Very average. Pretty good service but the food was a let down. Seafood chowder ok but only 4 overcooked scallops for the other starter. Trio of pork for main, one piece was dry one was undercooked and cold and the other was fatty. To top it off the beans were raw and the garlic mash was lumpy. Would not recommend


    28th December 2010

  7. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * * *

    We booked a table for lunch for a work function. They called to confirm the booking and we realised we had booked for the wrong time. They were very accomodating and let us change our booking very close to the time we were dining. The service was excellent and they really catered to our needs. A member of our party wanted a Pizza that was not on the menu so our Waitress let her customise her own meal. The food was delicous and very well priced. A very nice atmosphere to sit and have a meal. I was very impressed with the service and the food. Would definately dine there again.


    24th November 2010

  8. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * * *

    This restaurant has been around for years and i have dined there frequently. The atmosphere is modern but also classic and the food is divine. They cater for most if not all fussy eaters and are great price wise. My fav is the chicken cranberry and brie pizza. YUM!


    30th September 2010

  9. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * * *

    Fabulous decor, very light and open. Large restaurant and nice food. A very pleasant dining experience.


    21st September 2010

  10. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * * 1/2

    Great atmosphere and good food.Because, this restaurant is very busy everyday! The waitress,they wearing a jeans for they uniform. I thought that too much casual for restaurant's unifom.


    16th September 2010

  11. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * *

    Great for large functions/groups as its social and casual. service always great. food is average, nothing special. atmosphere is great but it can get very noisy!


    2nd September 2010

  12. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * * * * 1/2

    great place to go with a group. Consistently good food and great menu


    25th August 2010

  13. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * 1/2

    I am writting to dispay my disappoinment with Iguana and their efforts or lack off I should say in the Monteith's Wild Foods Competition, I am an avid follower of this competition each year. We went in especially to try their dish, no where could you tell they were even involved, no posters no info on their dish nothing! Was expecting the waiter /ress to maybe let us know and tell us all about it, NOTHING! Makes me wonder how they are even on the leader board to date. Part of the competition is on staff awarness and them telling the average punter all about this comp, especially when you look at the other places who are competing and their fantastic efforts to get the interest of customers, some places have the place decked out with all things wild, or at the very least Wild Food posters displayed. Very disappointing, and only hope that those who are lucky enough to get passed this and actually try the dish are a little more happy than we were!


    19th June 2010

  14. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * *

    I absoloutly agree. Used to be favorite restaurant as with many of my friends. Used to have work lunches there however came away hungry once too often and now will not go back.....


    27th January 2010

  15. Iguana Street Bar & Restaurant

    * *

    Dining at Iguana has long been a favourite treat of ours, but no longer. We first noticed a change in service a few years ago when we started eating to a gluten-free diet. Iguana's gluten-free pizzas have steadily shrunk in size and density of toppings, and there appears to be a difference in bases used for gluten-free pizzas served in-house and as take-out (the take-out pizzas are about 30% smaller, by my estimation, but you pay the same $20+ for what amounts to a single serve of pizza). We received two $25 Iguana vouchers for Christmas 2009. Hubby ordered a pizza to take away in January (sticker price: ~$22). The pizza was tasty enough for its diminutive size and sparse toppings, but we were shocked and dismayed to be given no change from our $25 voucher. Note, the voucher did not mention that no change would be given. When Hubby questioned the attending staff member about this, he was told that if we had brought in the other voucher, we could have received change (?). On asking a staff member to speak to the manager, the message came back that if we wanted to use the full value of the voucher, we needed to spend more than the face value of the voucher. The effect: Iguana has lost a loyal customer over $3. Our advice to potential diners: Enjoy Iguana for what it is - still perhaps one of the classiest and most popular of Hamilton's eateries. Beware, however, of the overpriced gluten-free pizzas, and of wanting to share the Iguana experience via their vouchers. In our humble experience, both the pizzas and the vouchers have filled Iguana's pockets better than our stomachs. Our advice to Iguana: Say what you mean on your vouchers. Simple.


    26th January 2010

Write a review

Rating (On a scale of 0.5 to 5, with 5 being the best)

Note: Click on any star to rate this business
1 1 1 2 2 3 3 4 4 5
(Please be honest, fair and responsible - Read our review guidelines)




Submit     Cancel * Required fields